About IFM

The Institut Fizik Malaysia (IFM) is the sole representative body for physicists and for those involved in the practice of physics or physics related work in this country.

The objectives of the institute include:

  • Promotion of activities leading to the advancement of physics
  • Create avenues for cooperation in the fields of physics education, training, and practice
  • Elevation of the professional status of physicists.

Brief History of IFM

The need for a single body to represent the growing number of physicists in Malaysia was felt by many since the early sixties.

The first interim committee met in Kuala Lumpur in 1971. The Institute's constitution was later formally approved and IFM was thus established in 1973 with an initial membership of 35.

IFM Activities

IFM organises conferences, seminars, courses, workshops and meetings on issues which are not only of current interest to physicists, but also on issues which highlight the important role of physicists in the country's development. The National Physics Conference (PERFIK) is held once every two years.

The Institute publishes a yearly journal (JURNAL FIZIK MALAYSIA) to report up-to-date research findings in physics.

A newsletter (BERITA FIZIK) is published to report current and future activities of the institute.

President's Profile - Dr. Tou Teck Yong

Dr. Tou Teck Yong was born in Sibu, Sarawak in 1958.

He obtained his BSc (Physics) and PhD (Plasma Physics) from the Universiti Malaya in 1982 and 1987 respectively. He is a fellow of the Academy of Science Malaysia and the Institut Fizik Malaysia.

He worked as a postdoc at the Institute for Advanced Studies, The Australian National University, Canberra, Australia in 1987-89. Upon his return in 1989, he joined the Institute for Advanced Studies, Universiti Malaya as an academic staff. In 1999, he joined Multimedia University (“MMU”) as a professor in the Faculty of Engineering. He became the Vice President for R&D in 2008-2013, and retired from the university in 2018. His main research covered laser-matter interactions, pulsed laser deposition of thin films, solder alloys and joint reliability, silicon wafer and organic light emitting diodes. He has supervised 10 PhDs and more than 25 Masters in his entire academic career.

Dr. Tou has been on the Board of Trustees of Top Glove Foundation since 2008, and the R&D advisor for Top Glove Corporation since 2013, providing advice and guidance. He also sits on the Board of Directors of Mikro MSC Berhad, and Powerwell Holding, both listed on the ACE Market of Bursa Securities as a Senior Independent Non-Executive Director.

He is currently an Adjunct Professor in both the UCSI University and the Multimedia University.

Message from the President

I am honoured to succeed Professor Dr. Kurunathan Ratnavelu as the President of IFM for 2021-23, and glad to take this opportunity to wish all IFM members a very good health. Let’s first wish that the Covid-19 pandemic will diminish so that IFM is able to resume all the physics related activities.

On behalf of IFM, I would like to express our greatest gratitude to Professor Kurunathan for his great contribution to IFM over the years as the Hon. Secretary for 13 years, followed by President between (2011-2021). I would like to highlight that, together with late Professor SP Chia, they managed to win the second opportunity to host the Asia-Pacific Physics Conference in Malaysia (APPC14, 2019, Kuching), after the 5 th APPC in 1992. The effort took several years for IFM to develop proposals, raise fund and finally host it in Kuching, Sarawak on 17-22 November 2019, which attracted more than 500 participants from different parts of the world.

During the annual Taiwan Physical Conference in 2019, I witnessed the Heads of Physics Department from almost local universities met up with industrial captains to discuss the effectiveness of physics education for industrial carriers of new graduates. These include the advances in electronic packaging, photonic devices, scientific instruments and national facilities such as the synchrotron which necessitate periodic review of the physics syllabus at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. I am not sure if the same university-industry linkage has been effective in Malaysia, but for the benefit of carrier prospect of young physicists, I believe IFM may try to initiate similar activity in future.

The Covid-19 pandemic have derailed many scientific activities and meetings and forced us to rely on internet technologies. I believe that hybrid conference, workshop and meeting may become a new norm in future.

To all fellows and members, please feel free to share your views or even contribute any news on physics - please drop a line or two to my email address tytou.mmu@gmail.com.

Council Members

Position Name
President Tou Teck Yong
Vice-President Wan Haliza Abd Majid
Hon. Secretary Ong Boon Hoong
Asst. Hon. Sec Melody Tan Shi Ai
Hon. Treasurer Woo Haw Jiunn
Asst. Hon. Treasurer Yeong Chai Hong
Council Member Kurunathan Ratnavelu
Council Member Ng Kwan Hoong
Council Member Yong Thian Khok
Council Member Mohd Zahurin Mohd Kamali
Council Member Chin Jia Hou
Council Member Goh Boon Tong
Council Member Bernardine Renaldo Wong Cheng Kiat
Council Member Saw Sor Heoh
Council Member Koh Meng Hock


Medical Physics: Prof. Dr. Ng Kwan Hoong

Plasma Physics: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Chin Oi Hoong


Optics & Photonics: Prof. Dr. Raymond Ooi

Theoretical & Computational Physics: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Chew Khian Hooi

Astronomy & Astrophysics: Prof. Dr. Hasan Abu Kassim

Industrial Physics: Dr. Woon Kai Lin


Member of Association of Asia Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS)

Associate member of Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP) 

Associate member of Institute of Physics (IOP)


Member of Confederation of Scientific and Technological Associations in Malaysia (COSTAM) 

Member of Kumpulan Ikhtisas Sains Malaysia (KISM)