Professor Ng Kwan Hoong receiving most prestigious Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award

Professor Ng Kwan Hoong, Department of Biomedical Imaging, Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya is honored to be the recipient of the highest rank and the most prestigious award in medical physics – the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award bestowed by the International Organization for Medical Physics (IOMP).
He is the first scientist from a developing country to receive such an honour. He will be traveling to World Congress on Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, Prague, June 3-8 2018 to receive the award.
This honour will certainly elevate the reputation of the University of Malaya and Malaysia.
About the Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award
The Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award is established to honor scientists who have distinguished themselves by their contributions in:
  1. education and training of medical physicists, medical students, medical residents, and allied health personnel;
  2. advancement of medical physics knowledge based upon independent original research and/or development;
  3. advancement of the medical physics profession in the IOMP adhering national and international organizations.
The past recipients are: Prof. John R Cameron, USA (2000), Prof. Andree Dutreix, France (2003), Prof. John R Cunningham, Canada (2006), Prof. Azam Niroomand-Rad, USA (2009), Prof. Charles A Mistretta, USA (2012), Prof. Colin Orton, USA (2015). All of them are very established and well-known scientists: For example, John Cameron is the inventor of the bone mineral densitometer (for detection of osteoporosis); Charles Mistretta is the inventor of digital subtraction angiography (the basis for cardiac angiography, interventional procedures); Colin Orton contributed significantly to applying radiobiology concept in radiotherapy.
Date of News: 
6 March 2018

Back to News